ATA, Featured, Powertorque Workshop

Workshop excellence finalists

The Australian Trucking Association (ATA) has announced the three finalists for the 2014 Craig Roseneder Award. This is an award recognising technical and maintenance excellence in the workshop by an individual and presented at the Awards Dinner during the ATA Technical and Maintenance Conference (TMC).


“Safety and preventative maintenance are top priorities for the industry,” said Noelene Watson, ATA Chair. “So it’s essential for operators to have people in their workshop who go the extra mile and think of a better way to do things in the future. This year’s finalists for the Craig Roseneder award do just that, having demonstrated an above-and-beyond approach to vehicle and workshop safety.”


131028TMC 3031
Last year’s winner, Wayne Merrick from Boral Logistics, receives his award from the previous winner, John Schulz of FBT Transwest.


The finalists are:


Laeton Hardy who works for Hardy’s Haulage, Cudgera Creek, NSW. He grew up around trucks and started as an apprentice mechanic at Hardy’s Haulage straight after finishing year 10. Laeton is now the company’s General Manager and Workshop Manager, insisting on the highest technical and maintenance standards, with new equipment undergoing up to three weeks of improvements, including the installation of safety steps before a vehicle enters service.

According to the citation, Laeton’s expertise means he is also able to offer insightful suggestions to his equipment suppliers and other transport operators. A number of his proposals have become standard or optional across the Kenworth range, most notably, his proposal that all electrical relays and circuit breakers should be relocated to one central and easily accessible location behind the dash in the cab.

Glenn Griffiths works for Ron Finemore Transport, Wodonga, Victoria as the Fleet Maintenance Manager for Ron Finemore Transport. He manages Ron Finemore workshops in both Orange and Wodonga. In this role, he is responsible for developing maintenance programs and delivering them to a fleet of 250 prime movers and 450 trailers.

The citation says Glenn continually challenges the safety status quo, developing new equipment such as fifth wheel coupling aids and non-slip access ladder covers to reduce driver injury rates. He also instigated the ‘Finemore Fitness’ program, providing subsidised health club membership to employees to help improve staff health and reduce absenteeism. Glenn is dedicated to training the younger generation, with four apprentices currently learning the trade under his guidance.

Damien Allison works for De Bruyn’s Transport, Burnie in Tasmania and started as an apprentice more than 20 years ago. He has risen through the ranks and was promoted to Maintenance Manager in 2005, responsible for all maintenance to the diverse De Bruyn’s fleet, which includes 113 powered vehicles, 130 trailers, forklifts, light vehicles and a 500 tonne capacity fish feed supply vessel.

In the citation it is said, Damien has worked diligently to introduce standardisation and improved procedures within the fleet, and has implemented a number of safe work measures within the workshop to reduce incident and injury rates. He is a strong supporter of the apprenticeship program, and many of his apprentices choose to stay with De Bruyn’s after finishing their training. Under his stewardship, 12 warehousing trainees and 14 workshop apprentices have completed their qualifications, with many also excelling in the National World Skills competition. Damien is an active member of his local community, gaining life membership to Apex Australia in 2012 after 17 years of service with the organisation.


The winner will be announced on October 28 at the Castrol Vecton Awards Dinner as part of the ATA/ARTSA Paccar and Dealer TMC. Courtesy of award sponsor Castol Vecton, the winner will receive a trip to the American Trucking Associations’ 2015 Technology & Maintenance Council Annual Meeting and Transportation Technology Exhibition in Nashville, Tennessee and $1,500 in spending money. The winner will also receive complimentary registration to TMC 2015.

Previous ArticleNext Article
  1. Australian Truck Radio Listen Live
Send this to a friend