Shining a Light on Industry Greats

shining a light on industry greats

David Smith, Australian Trucking Association Chair, reflects on the way we celebrate the people who have worked so hard to make the trucking industry in Australia, what it is today, shining a light on industry greats and those looking to make it even better in the future.

Trucking plays a crucial role in the lives of everyone in Australia. This has been particularly evident in the last 18 months as we have all responded to COVID-19. 

Trucks supply every community and are connected to every industry from construction to retail and agriculture. As the saying goes: without trucks, Australia stops. But more importantly, without hardworking individuals and businesses there are no trucks. 

To recognise the outstanding businesses and individuals who inspire others and make a positive impact, each year the Australian Trucking Association proudly delivers the National Trucking Industry Awards. 

shining a light on industry greats
David Smith, Australian Trucking Association Chair

Established in 1994, these awards have a long and rich history, and have celebrated some of trucking’s greats from inaugural ATA chair Peter Rocke and industry stalwart Phyllis Jones OAM, though to exceptional organisations like Brown & Hurley and Fellows Bulk Transport.

Once again in 2021 we are thrilled to deliver these awards, celebrating the inspiring achievements of Australian trucking’s most committed individuals and organisations.

Recognising the professionalism and contribution of the trucking industry, nominations are open in a range of categories that showcase outstanding ambassadors and passionate contributors.

Our award winners will be announced at the ATA’s planned Trucking Australia conference, to be held from May 4 to 6 2022 at the Gold Coast. While traditionally a feature of the ATA Technology and Maintenance Conference, this year we have made the decision to include the presentation of the Craig Roseneder and Castrol Vecton Industry Achievement awards at Trucking Australia. This will ensure our finalists and award winners receive the full fanfare and recognition they deserve. 

The national award program will also crown winners of the TruckSafe John Kelly Memorial Award, Don Watson Memorial Award and Castrol Vecton Industry Achievement Award, those selected from a range of exceptional people or organisations who do not need to nominate to be considered. 

shining a light on industry greats

These awards are about celebrating those who work behind the scenes or go above and beyond to keep Australia moving. 

It’s about acknowledging the commitment of every single person around the country who has dedicated their time and skills to ensure the trucking industry has a future. Every operator, manufacturer, owner, manager, mechanic and administrator involved in transport has a role to play.

These awards would not be possible without the support of the 2021 National Trucking Industry Awards sponsors; BP, NTI and Volvo Trucks, as well as Castrol Vecton, Cummins South Pacific, AEI Transport Insurance Brokers and Sutton Road Training Centre TISC. 

shining a light on industry greats