Greg Lawson new container section chair for ATA NSW

182Greg Lawson, the General Manager of JJ Lawson Transport, has been named the new Chair of ATA NSW’s Container Transport Carrier Sub-Committee following Mike Moylan’s retirement from the role.

John Preston, Paul Downie and Bill Lovatt were also elected to the Committee, and will provide support to Mr Lawson in his role as Chair.

Mr Lawson has been involved in the trucking industry since leaving high school. His family company, JJ Lawson Transport, was first established in 1975 and is fully TruckSafe accredited.

Mr Lawson said there were many daunting issues facing the container transport industry.

“The container industry is heavy regulated and legislated. We need to have a say in how we’re dealt with by the ports and stevedores to make sure everyone is treated uniformly,” he said.

“I strongly encourage all container carriers to come together and become a part of these discussions.”

He also paid tribute to Mr Moylan’s contribution to the Sub-Committee.

“Mike’s been a real foundation for the container section. He’s never faltered and always done what he’s believed to be in everyone’s best interest. I wish him all the best for the future.”

Mr Moylan was awarded the ATA NSW Outstanding Contribution Award in 2012 and the ATA’s national Outstanding Contribution Award in 2013. His tireless efforts to bring about constructive discussion between NSW ports, stevedores and trucking operators are credited with reducing the average truck turnaround time at Port Botany from 50 minutes to 30 minutes.

Previous ArticleNext Article
  1. Australian Truck Radio Listen Live
Send this to a friend